Approval - Functionality
The approval process allows to force proofreading new texts, as well as changes in existing content.
The approval process supports the "four-eyes principle" by supplying the means in SABIO to proofread content before it is published.
The activation of the approval functions is carried out by the SABIO support team and can be commissioned via a Zendesk ticket by an administrator.
The SABIO support team will add to new roles to the system:
- Approval Editor: Users having this role assigned are able to change approval settings in texts and tree nodes. These settings determine if an approval is necessary and who can approve changes in content. This role can be assigned to any user with writing permissions, but we recommend to restrict this role to administrators.
- Approver: Users with this role assigned can approve changes in texts. The approver does not need writing permissions.
The approval process is triggered when either the title or content of a text are edited, or when new texts are added to tree-nodes with activated approval. Changing merely settings (e.g. branches, validity, etc) does not trigger the approval process.
If a text is selected to require approval, the approval process is activated in the settings by the Approval-Admin. A checkbox has to be checked and an Approver to be selected. In addition a user group is selected that can also approve changes, if the respective user owns the respective permissions. All Approvers find texts and nodes to be approved in the source "Approvals" in the Home-Tab.
For the day to day routine of an editor the approval process means a slight delay in the publishing of content, but ensures that every change in content is proofread before other users can access it, thus assuring the quality of the content.
If an approval is denied the text has to be changed and saved anew to trigger a new approval process.
It is not possible to deactivate the "Approval required" setting if an approval process is active.
Deactivation is only possible when the approval process currently running has been completed.
If a text actively runs through the approval process, changes to settings for approval in the background are flagged, but are only adopted after the process has been completed and the "Approved" status has been reached.
This behavior protects the active approval process and ensures that content is only released after it has been checked.
Please contact us to change your Plan: firstname.lastname@example.org